David Wiley #change11 mooc week 5 – post 4

On Friday I managed to develop the first iteration of a proposed email to send institution-wide about convening an Openness Community and passed it on to my departmental director and assistant-director for review and comment. I’m hoping their comments will come back favourably and I can move forward on this. If all goes well I’ll post it here.

Over the weekend I have been considering another issue. Is it possible to successfully practice openness in your work without the honesty and integrity of colleagues? If you work in an environment where you have to be seen to be doing the ‘right’ thing by the ‘right’ people in the ‘right’ places it can be tempting for others to use your work without attribution, particularly if they are better at playing the ‘game’ and publicizing themselves than you are. So without the reputation or big enough exposure for your work, there is a danger that others could profit from your endeavours or even corrupt your purpose if you can’t develop the stage quickly or early enough. I think that the practice of openness is the right way, certain for me, however, I do worry whether I can create the stage and get the message out in a coherent way and quickly enough without corruption.

3 thoughts on “David Wiley #change11 mooc week 5 – post 4

  1. I really like your question and have been wrestling with something similar over the last three years since I started exploring social, networked learning and collaborative technology. I consciously and frequently choose openness in my work and I make use of internal platforms to do so (primarily SharePoint and WebEx). The vast majority of my nearly 30,000 peers do not share openly. They keep their knowledge hidden in emails and common drives so that they are stamped with names and dates for ‘accountability’ purposes that will help them prove to the ‘right’ people that they were doing the ‘right’ things at the ‘right’ time within the ‘right’ level of authority. Admittedly, I keep some emails to in the traditional ‘cover your a**’ way but about 90% of what I do lives on SP now and I am very proud of that.

    Though formal publishing is not a priority for my work, I am quite visible in my organization by ‘publishing’ my thoughts and documents and links on SP. Nothing is posted there anyonymously and I am able to receive notifications if anyone tries to ‘corrupt’ my original posts somehow (though that would more likely happen accidentally due to lack of user knowledge about SP not through intentional destruction).

    Knowing that some of my colleagues were less familiar with SP, I used to forward them links by email but I’ve slowly moved away from that in the hope that they will learn to feed themselves through SP notifications and alerts. It took me some time and effort to learn how to do this stuff differently and they will need to put some time and effort in as well, if they choose.

    • Wow, I can relate to your experiences entirely.

      Within the current system, there doesn’t seem to be any incentive to share openly and collaborate; in fact there’s probably a disincentive. I’ve found it a hard and sometimes disheartening battle.

  2. I make a virtue of my total openness to my students but I was caught short by one who was concerned about his information getting passed on by me. Privacy for me relates to other people’s data.

Leave a Reply

