David Wiley #change11 mooc week 5 – post 2

This week’s topic has inspired and energized me into revisiting notions I’ve had for a few years. Unfortunately, I’ve found that whenever I try to take them forward there is such inertia from within the institution that they never get off the ground or they falter shortly afterwards. One area that I have found particularly frustrating has been trying to get institutional buy-in to the development, production and use of Open Educational Resources (OERs). There just doesn’t seem to be the interest or passion at the top level. However, the efforts David has made and continues to make are inspiring.

David Wiley: iSummit ’08 Keynote Address from isummit 08 on Vimeo.

David wasn’t afraid to make mistakes, as he outlined in the video. I should also learn from my own past ‘failures’ (for example the disappointments expressed in my previous post) and use them as a springboard to try again and achieve more.

To this end I’ve decided to develop a grassroots community approach to openness within my institution. To achieve this I’ll need to put together a convincing argument that senior management will allow me to take forward. I wonder if members of MOOC Change11 will help me to develop this argument throughout this week (week 5)? Here are some potential questions I need answers to.

  • What points do you think would be useful to make? Are the following useful for a community to discuss?
    • What technologies would be appropriate for the community members to use to produce & host OERs?
    • How can we promote the use of Open Journals for publishing research?
    • How can the reuse of OERs be encouraged within the institution?
    • Can we aggregate appropriate subject specific open content as a community for within the institution and beyond?
    • How can we promote the sole use of open content and open textbooks within a course?
  • How can I convince management that a grassroots approach would be appropriate?
  • Would it be sustainable as a venture?
  • Would it have any direct benefits for the institution?

I look forward to any input or advice you can give. Many thanks.

7 thoughts on “David Wiley #change11 mooc week 5 – post 2

  1. Management wants to be in control. Open “things” do not fit in this need of control. You could try to solve a problem that is known to management by using Open “things”.

  2. Pingback: David Wiley #change11 mooc week 5 – post 2 | E-Learning-Inclusivo | Scoop.it

  3. Pingback: David Wiley #change11 mooc week 5 – post 2 « juandon. Innovación y conocimiento

  4. #Change11 Morley, I read your kind note on my blog and have been thinking all day of how to reply to your questions. Then behold the universe delivered an email about the UNESCO OER program (http://www.oer-quality.org/) to my desktop. I suspect you’re already connected to this group, but if not it might be a useful point of contact.

    When I was involved in an attempt to make a large scale change in a school years ago, I took a lot of advice from the writing of Anita de Boer who basically said: start with those who are like-thinkers and do some great stuff that will attract attention and draw others in. The news of how effective this new approach is will leak out to the next ring of possible participants and so on and so on with the newly convinced taking the good new out to their circles of colleagues and then they will add you to their circles as a trusted collaborative/consultant.

    What works best for me is to keep asking myself what are others’ barriers to participation and then to work at minimizing those. I have to go back to when I was in the resistant camp and reconnect with all those fears and doubts that kept me from trying something new and the comfort and security that kept me where I was. I’ve had to learn how to listen to others want to accomplish for themselves and figure out where the overlap is between what i have to offer and what their needs and wants are. This has a lot to do with starting from a ‘glass half full’ rather than ‘half empty’ perspective. I’ve found that suggestions which can help one person meet several goals or which are a win/win for many people at different levels (enabling them each to realise some goal of their own — through the same activity) have the greatest potential for actualisation.

    Then I help people find their own point of entry — some want to tear down their old ‘house’ and rebuild; others just want to redo one little room. Whatever makes trying out the new perspective or tool relevant, meaningful, and important to them in their world is where I start. I have the tools and knowledge to help them open whatever door, window, or crack works for them. ‘Becoming open’ (for lack of a better catch phrase) may be the goal for you, but perhaps the way to engage others is to turn it into a tool for them.

    When I gave up on pushing an agenda for change and started working with colleagues — just trying to make their lives (through their work) and the lives of their students a little better in a way that made sense and appealed to them — that’s when the magic began to happen for me. But I know too that the world needs big thinkers and action-takers like David Wiley and like you, and I’m glad you’re there to do the heavy, sometimes exasperating work of cutting trail.

    • Sue,

      Thank you sooooo much for your response. I did have the OPAL site bookmarked, but had kind of lost my way in my own thinking; you have prompted me to spend more time there.

      Your comments are helping me find the right path again. Such pearls of wisdom from your own experiences help me in so many ways; the bigger picture I see clearly, the detailed execution of working with colleagues to make things happen I find tremendously difficult, a skill that you obviously possess.

      I think I may well be asking for your advice going forward, if you have the time.

      Thanks once again for taking the time to provide such a considered response.

      Regards,
      Mark

  5. I see one of the challenge with big institutions is the choke-hold that big tech companies have on the licensing of their products. Perhaps there are large contracts in place that make it difficult to leave a paid relationship for software and go to an open approach. In this budget-conscious environment, one might be able to address cost savings if contracts are up for negotiation/termination? This is also a risk-allergic time when institutions want top-notch security, reliability and stability in their software products. If some OERs have been around long enough to ‘pass the test’ on those fronts (or even outperform the costly products), that could be part of your business case as well? Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

